Posted December 03, 2013

David Cutcliffe, Gus Malzahn, Gary Pinkel finalists for Maxwell Coach of the Year

David Cutcliffe, Gary Pinkel, Gus Malzahn
Gary Pinkel has already engineered a six-win turnaround at Missouri in the Tigers' second year in the SEC.

Gary Pinkel has engineered a six-win turnaround at Missouri in the Tigers’ second year in the SEC. (L.G. Patterson/AP)

Duke’s David Cutcliffe, Auburn’s Gus Malzahn and Missouri’s Gary Pinkel have been named finalists for the Maxwell Football Club’s Collegiate Coach of the Year Award.

Cutcliffe led the Blue Devils to the ACC Coastal Division title and the first 10-win season in school history. Malzahn helped the Tigers rebound from a 3-9 record in 2012 to reach the SEC title game with an 11-1 season this fall. Pinkel likewise has Mizzou in the SEC title game after an 11-win regular season, a major turnaround from the Tigers’ 5-7 record in last year.

The Maxwell winner will be announced on Dec. 19, and the award will be presented at the 77th Maxwell Awards Gala in March 2014 in Atlantic City, N.J.